The Foundation

René-Maurice Gattefossé

The Foundation

René-Maurice Gattefossé

The story of René-Maurice Gattefossé began in 1881 in Lyon, France. He was the third child of five siblings and was surrounded by perfumes from an early age: his father Louis, founder of Etablissement Gattefossé in 1880, represented foreign companies manufacturing essential oils, petroleum oils, household products and raw materials for the perfume industry.

René-Maurice studied chemical engineering at the University of Lyon and very quickly joined the family business. While his older brother Abel was in charge of trade and administration, René-Maurice looked after research into essences and perfumes. He was an inspired and creative formula maker. In 1906, he published “le guide pratique et formulaire du parfumeur moderne, the result of his research and proof of a wide variety of products to his credit. This form was a success and gave the company a real scientific influence.

René-Maurice developed the Lavender in Haute-Provence

In 1907, René-Maurice met the lavender producers of Haute-Provence because essential lavender oil is an essential component for perfumery.
He discovered a poor region and was upset by the poor living and working conditions of the farmers. He decided to help them and was fully committed to the development of French lavender.

A visionary, he patented techniques that improved and modernised distillation facilities, planted hectares of lavender, set up selected nurseries and created a union of lavender producers.

He organised the chain from production and picking to perfumer. In just a few years, the volumes of crops harvested, and essential oils distilled increased significantly and the essence of French lavender was recognised at last. It was during those years that René-Maurice picked up the knowledge and know-how of the farmers who taught him the medicinal virtues of lavender.

Passionate about his work, René-Maurice wrote about and passed on his discoveries, his research and new technologies by founding the first review to defend the French perfume industry: La Parfumerie Moderne.

It was for the company Gattefossé a real platform, and for René-Maurice the opportunity to publish numerous articles on lavender and its therapeutic properties.

This magazine, of which René-Maurice was the editor in chief, continued until the end of the 60s. It is now available in a digital version on the website of Université Paris 5.

1910s

René-Maurice continued his activities as a chemist while characterising essential oils with the aim of improving its quality.

On July 25, 1910, while working in his laboratory, he was splashed with boiling essence from a round-bottomed flask that had exploded and burst into flames. His head and both hands were very badly burned but,

At this time, burns were treated with oil-rich tulle gras dressings. When his wounds started to give off a gangrenous odor, he remembered that the lavender growers had told him that burns could be healed with lavender essential oil.
He took off his bandages and coated his skin with lavender oil. The results were astounding. Two days later, his fever eased and his infection disappeared, while his wounds healed relatively quickly without a trace. He was literally SAVED from a potentially fatal case of gangrene.

For René-Maurice, this personal experience confirmed the hypothesis that lavender essential oil had wonderful antiseptic and healing properties.
Profoundly changed by this experience, René-Maurice embarked upon a new mission: To convince the medical world that this therapy was truly effective. He dedicated much of his time to studying the beneficial chemical properties of lavender essential oil, naturally developing an interest in lots of other essential oils along the way.
He then embarked on a series of experiments in hospitals, first military and later civilian.

Deterpenated and concentrated essential oils, that are soluble in water developed by Mr Gattefossé, are precious products. Their antiseptic qualities are very effective particularly during emergency surgery and for fighting epidemics that cause tremendous harm in wartime

Dr Forgues
Military surgeon in Lyon

René-Maurice worked with doctors and developed essential oil formulations to combat infections.

A second episode in 1915 prompted René-Maurice to develop aromatherapy further. His older brother, Abel, who also worked at the family company and to whom he was very close , died of infectious disease during the war.

René-Maurice was very affected by this, and decided to devote himself to developing an aromatic antiseptic that he called SALVOL.

When the Spanish flu hit hard in 1918, he was convinced that SALVOL could save lives.
To support the effectiveness of his aromatic blend, he published in the journal La Parfumerie Moderne a study on the bactericidal properties of essential oils , on staphylococcus cultures.

It turned out that the deterpenated essence of lavender, of rosemary and SALVOL destroy staphylococcus as of the first hour of contact.

Many military and civilian hospitals in France and abroad then used it successfully.
However, René-Maurice did not want to turn the SALVOL formula into a commercial product, believing that it was a public asset to be used for the common good. So, he made the manufacturing process available to those who asked for it.
In 1918, his younger brother Robert also died of an infection. Those years were difficult for René-Maurice but they helped form his conviction that essential oils constituted a new way of treating and healing.

René-Maurice demonstrated the effectiveness of aromatherapy in the hospital environment by recording the clinical follow-up of patients treated with essential oils in several hospitals in Lyon.
It was discovered that diseases varied, but the prescriptions were relatively similar.

René-Maurice shared his experiments

In the 1920s-30s, René-Maurice’s experiments were gradually recognised. He wrote about the physiological action of aromatic solutions and published 4 booklets on the therapeutic uses of lavender. He manufactured antiseptic soaps and creams. Once more, SALVOL became widespread for disinfection in hospitals as well as in factories, barracks, schools, cinemas, on the railway etc.

Drawing on the results of his many experiments, René-Maurice wrote a summary of his work in 1937 in a book he called Aromatherapy.
The following year, he published a second book that complemented the first: Essential antiseptics, in which he gave details of the bactericidal and microbicidal properties of essences and described the complexity of the protocols. These two publications reported 30 years of research and studies on the subject.

René-Maurice liked to share his knowledge, publishing more than 30 scientific and technical books, not to mention all his articles.
While managing the company, Gattefossé, René-Maurice continued to work as the editor of La Parfumerie Moderne, and wrote many articles.

RMG had an open mind and was able to take on exceptional workloads: he addressed a wide range of concerns.
He continued to develop Gattefossé, creating a highly successful range of veterinary products containing essential oils, then turned to dermatology to treat skin diseases with his new excipients of aqueous continuous-phase emulsion. He also manufactured beauty products, hair products, fragranced necklaces, various lotions, etc. His passion for essential oils took him to North Africa, Bulgaria, Sicily, Istanbul…​

As a free spirit, René-Maurice wanted to understand science as much as philosophy, and above all wanted to use science for innovative research for the good of all. In 1950, during a visit to Morocco with his younger brother, the botanist Jean Gattefossé, he suffered a pulmonary embolism and died suddenly. His son Henri-Marcel took over the family business and continued the studies on essential oils started by René-Maurice, which he published in various works.

Partager : Share:
Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on whatsapp
Share on linkedin

La Fondation

René-Maurice Gattefossé

La Fondation

René-Maurice Gattefossé

L’histoire de René-Maurice Gattefossé commence en 1881 à Lyon en France. Il est le troisième enfant d’une fratrie de cinq et baigne dès son plus jeune âge dans le monde des  parfums : son père Louis, fondateur des Établissements Gattefossé en 1880, est représentant de sociétés étrangères fabriquant des huiles essentielles, des huiles de vaseline, des produits de droguerie, des matières premières pour la parfumerie.

René-Maurice suit des études d’ingénieur chimiste à l’université de Lyon et, très vite, intègre l’entreprise familiale. Tandis que son grand frère Abel est chargé du commerce et de l’administratif, René-Maurice s’occupe de la recherche sur les essences et les parfums. C’est un formulateur inspiré et créatif. Dès 1906 il édite “le guide pratique et formulaire du parfumeur moderne”, résultat de ses recherches et preuve d’une grande variété de produits à son actif. Ce formulaire est un succès et donne à l’entreprise un ascendant scientifique réel.

René-Maurice et la culture de la lavande

En 1907, René-Maurice rencontre les producteurs de lavande de Haute-Provence car l’huile essentielle de lavande est un constituant indispensable pour la Parfumerie.
Il découvre une région pauvre et s’émeut des conditions de vie et de travail déplorables des paysans. Il décide de les aider et s’engage alors pleinement pour le développement de la lavande française.

Visionnaire, il brevète des techniques qui améliorent et modernisent les installations de distillations, fait planter des hectares de lavande, installe des pépinières sélectionnées et crée un syndicat de producteurs de lavande.
Il organise la filière du producteur, cueilleur au parfumeur. En quelques années, les volumes de cultures récoltées et d’huiles essentielles distillées augmentent fortement et l’essence de lavande française est enfin reconnue. C’est dans ces années-là que René-Maurice recueille les connaissances et le savoir-faire des paysans qui lui enseignent les vertus médicinales de la lavande.

Passionné par son métier, René-Maurice communique et transmet ses découvertes, ses recherches et nouvelles technologies en fondant la première revue de défense de la Parfumerie française : La Parfumerie Moderne.

C’est pour l’entreprise Gattefossé une vraie tribune, et pour René-Maurice l’occasion de signer de nombreux articles sur la lavande et ses vertus thérapeutiques.

La Parfumerie Moderne, dont René-Maurice était rédacteur en chef, est disponible en version numérisée sur le site internet de l’université Paris 5

Les années 1910

René-Maurice poursuit ses activités de chimiste tout en caractérisant les huiles essentielles dans le but d’en perfectionner la qualité. Le 25 juillet 1910, tandis qu’il travaillait dans son laboratoire, il est éclaboussé par de l’essence bouillante, provenant d’un ballon qui explose et prend feu. Il se brûle très violemment la tête et ses deux mains.
A cette époque, les brûlures étaient soignées par des pansements de tulle gras.
Lorsque ses plaies commencent à gangréner, René-Maurice se souvient alors des propos tenus par les paysans de Haute Provence sur les vertus thérapeutiques et anti-infectieuses de l’huile essentielle de lavande.
Il décide d’ôter ses pansements et de s’enduire d’essence de lavande : les résultats sont stupéfiants. Au bout de deux jours, la fièvre tombe et l’infection disparaît, ses plaies cicatrisent ensuite rapidement sans laisser de traces.
Pour René-Maurice, cette expérience personnelle confirme l’hypothèse que l’huile essentielle de lavande a des propriétés antiseptiques et cicatrisantes incontestables.
Cet épisode marque fortement la vie de René-Maurice qui se sent alors investi d’une mission : convaincre le monde médical de l’efficacité de l’aromathérapie. Il consacre ainsi une grande partie de son temps personnel à l’étude des propriétés chimiques bienfaisantes de l’essence de lavande et s’intéresse naturellement à beaucoup d’autres huiles essentielles.
C’est le début d’une série d’expérimentations dans les hôpitaux militaires d’abord puis civils.

Les huiles essentielles déterpenées et concentrées, solubles dans l’eau développées par Mr Gattefossé, sont des produits précieux. Leur pouvoir antiseptiques est très efficace en particulier lors de chirurgie d’urgence et pour lutter contre les épidémies qui ravagent en temps de guerre.

Dr Forgues
Chirurgien militaire à Lyon

Collaboration avec les médecins et développement de formulation aux huiles essentielles pour lutter contre les infections

En 1915, suite au décès de son frère ainé, Abel, d’une maladie infectieuse, René-Maurice, très affecté, décide de se consacrer à la mise au point d’un antiseptique aromatique qu’il baptise SALVOL.
Quand en 1918 la grippe espagnole sévit durement, il est persuadé que le SALVOL peut sauver des vies.
Pour appuyer l’efficacité de son mélange aromatique, il publie dans la revue La Parfumerie Moderne une étude concernant les propriétés bactéricides des huiles essentielles, sur des cultures de staphylocoques.
Il s’avère que l’essence de lavande déterpénée, celle de romarin et le SALVOL détruisent le staphylocoque dès la première heure de contact.

De nombreux hôpitaux militaires et civils, en France et à l’étranger l’utilisent alors avec succès.
Pour autant, René-Maurice ne souhaite pas faire de cette formule SALVOL un objet de commerce, estimant qu’il s’agit d’un bien commun répondant à une cause d’intérêt général. Il met donc le procédé de fabrication à la disposition de ceux qui en font la demande.
En 1918, son plus jeune frère Robert meurt à son tour d’une infection. Ces années-là sont difficiles pour René-Maurice mais elles forgent sa conviction que les huiles essentielles représentent une nouvelle manière de soigner et de guérir.

Premiers témoignages d'efficacité et partage d'expériences

René-Maurice consigne sur des carnets le suivi clinique des malades ayant bénéficié d’un traitement aux huiles essentielles dans plusieurs hôpitaux lyonnais.

On y apprend que les maladies y sont variées, pour autant, les prescriptions relativement semblables.

Dans les années 1920-30, les expérimentations de René-Maurice sont peu à peu reconnues, il communique sur l’action physiologique des solutions aromatiques et publie 4 livrets sur les applications thérapeutiques de la lavande. Il fabrique des savons antiseptiques, des crèmes, à nouveau le SALVOL qui se généralise pour la désinfection non seulement des hôpitaux, mais aussi des usines, des casernes, des écoles, des cinémas, des chemins de fer, …

Fort de ces nombreux retours d’expériences, René-Maurice écrit la synthèse de ses travaux en 1937 dans un livre qu’il intitule Aromathérapie.

Dès l’année suivante, il publie un second ouvrage qui complète le premier : Antiseptiques essentiels, dans lequel il détaille les propriétés bactéricides et microbicides des essences et décrit la complexité des protocoles. Ces deux parutions rendent compte de 30 ans de recherche et d’études sur le sujet.

René-Maurice aime à partager ses connaissances, il publie ainsi plus de 30 livres scientifiques et techniques, sans compter la somme de ses articles.

Tout en dirigeant l’entreprise Gattefossé, René-Maurice continue d’être rédacteur en chef de la Parfumerie Moderne, et signe de nombreux articles.

René-Maurice est doté d’une ouverture d’esprit et d’une capacité de travail exceptionnelle : il mène de front des préoccupations très diverses.

Il continue le développement de la société Gattefossé en créant une gamme de produits vétérinaires contenant des huiles essentielles qui remporte un vif succès, puis il se tourne vers la dermatologie pour soigner les maladies de peaux grâce à ses nouveaux excipients d’émulsion à phase continue aqueuse. Il fabrique également des produits de beauté, produits capillaires, des colliers parfumés, des lotions diverses… Sa passion pour les huiles essentielles le fait voyager en Afrique du Nord, en Bulgarie, en Sicile, à Istambul…​

En esprit libre, René-Maurice possède cette soif de comprendre autant la science que la philosophie, et souhaite par-dessus tout mettre la science au service de recherches innovantes pour le bien de tous. En 1950, lors d’une visite au Maroc chez son jeune frère le botaniste Jean Gattefossé, il est victime d’un accident pulmonaire et meurt brutalement. Son fils Henri-Marcel reprend l’entreprise familiale et poursuit les études sur les huiles essentielles initiées par René-Maurice, qu’il publie dans différents ouvrages.

Partager : Share:
Partager sur facebook
Partager sur twitter
Partager sur whatsapp
Partager sur linkedin